virtual book drive for prisoners

The folks at the Prison Book Program (in Quincy, MA) are doing a virtual drive to raise funds to buy dictionaries for prisoners. From their site:

Help us raise $2740 to buy 1000 college-level dictionaries! For the vast majority of people in prison with sub-standard reading skills, a dictionary is the key to understanding the books we send them. One prisoner wrote:

“I have only been reading now for about 21 months. I am 46 years old and when I get out of prison, my son will be 11 years old. And I would love to be able to read and write to my son. So please if you all could see to help me I will be able to help my son when I get home.”

We are planning to buy the dictionaries at the wholesale cost of $2.74 which is over 40% off retail.

Donate 1 or donate 100. All help is greatly appreciated.

I just wanted to mention this here in case anyone wanted to help out! I think a virtual drive is a great idea because it makes donating really easy and simple. Also: you can find out if there’s a books-to-prisoners program in your area by consulting this map (thanks, Books through Bars!)

Leave a Reply

