Things in my orbit

Some rumblings of progress in the area of open data in archaeology

Library 2.0 podcasts (haven’t listened to any, just discovered they exist)

Making History Podcast

Flickr stream of creative business cards

Watched this movie over the weekend:


Overall it was pretty weird and terrible, but the first few minutes were some of the most visually interesting I’ve seen in awhile, thanks to the quick cuts and linked imagery. When I say the movie was terrible, though, I mean it really was a disappointment. Not scary, and really there was nothing to the plot and the characters. Pauline Kael has an excellent (in my opinion) review of it, published in the New Yorker:
Pauline Kael, The Current Cinema, “Labyrinths,” The New Yorker, December 24, 1973, p. 68.

Unfortunately I can’t give any quotes because I don’t have access to any electronic version, and the book I read it in is at home.

I registered for the ARLIS/NA conference in Boston, in April. Should be exciting…finally an excuse to design my own business cards!

An article on anarchist archives/collections/resources in College & Research Libraries News caught my eye. It’s a nice article, but I’m surprised the Centre International de Recherches sur l’Anarchisme (CIRA) wasn’t included. Granted, the pages of this newsletter/journal are tinier than most.

Leave a Reply

