Back to school…again, already

I can’t help it.  I’m excited.  I just registered to take a course (in the Fall) on gender and space in ancient Greek cities.  After reading a lot about this but never actually “studying” it, I’m looking forward to going beyond the world of Greek vases and getting more into architecture/archaeology.  I’m not really looking forward to reading the Odyssey for the 4th time.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the Odyssey.  But…I could wait another 4 years before going back to it.  Enrolling in this course is part of my (at the moment) tentative plan to pursue the much-disputed, oft-coveted second Master’s degree.  Or I might just take it for fun.  Remind me of this when it’s getting dark at 4pm, I’m working full-time, and trying to write term papers and sit through 3 hour long classes again.  Oh, and check out this tribute to rosy-fingered dawn.

“Plan d’une Maison Greque” engraved by A.Tardieu and published in Voyage du Jeune Anacharsis en Grece, 1825. (available for sale from http://www.antiqueprints.com)

Leave a Reply

